Sources of inspiration

I’m always amazed by the unexpected ways that the Internet can introduce me to someone new. Today I discovered a very inspirational man – Michael Norton, OBE – and this is how he came to my attention.

Email from one of the alumni special interest groups at my business school (LBS) >> MyBnk.org (a great organization for youth banking and financial education, with one of the most funky website designs I’ve ever seen) >> selected a section called Hotseats, from where I watched some of the video clips. 

There I saw and heard Michael talking about some of the projects he has started and helped others start to change the world. One wonderful idea that inspired me is the way he invites others to dinner, called the Hunger banquet. The 10 guests draw straws and 2 get a posh meal, 3 sit on cushions on the floor and have rice and lentils, and the remainder get rice and water only. What an ingenious way to personally draw attention to the plight of the poor around the world. I’m already thinking about how I can organize one of these banquets ….. perhaps I could use this format for my birthday party next weekend?

Michael Norton definitely is a man intent on changing the world – and enlisting others to do so on a daily basis. He has written a book called 365 ways to Change the World to inspire others to take action rather than sit on the sidelines. His own projects include: a banking system for South Asian street children; village publishing and libraries in India; the unLTD foundation for social entrepreneurs; the Centre for Innovation in Voluntary Action (CIVA) to promote innovation and new ideas for voluntary action; the Youthbank scheme to give young people the chance to donate money to local causes; and an international summer school for young activists from over 40 countries, Young People Change the World!

What an inspiration!

About Carole Brown, Learning Coach and Repatterning Practitioner

My early days as a biologist and my career as a leadership consultant and learning coach have largely influenced the work I do now. I am attracted to many different spheres of knowledge and wisdom, especially those that are on the cutting edge and relate to the processes underlying change. "Resonance Repatterning" is an energetic approach to transforming our patterns and moving beyond the blocks that keep us from reaching our highest self. It is a stunning process that gets right to the core and elegantly identifies what needs to be transformed. I first studied RR in 2000 before we had quantum physicists explaining the basis for energy work. Now we have the science, there's every reason to embrace this evolutionary approach to change and growth and use it to explore how to become your best self.
This entry was posted in Empowering others, Leadership and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sources of inspiration

  1. Nelly Tonchev says:

    This is a great inspirational story, we have to think more global and appreciate the food on our table. I will share this wonderful story with my club, curious to see what my fellow Rotarians think?
    Happy Birth Day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

