Ethics in business – a question on LinkedIn

On LinkedIn I belong to a group called “ethicability” and today I responded to a question posted about a month ago.

 

The question ‘Are UK Companies more interested in business ethics than U.S. companies?’ was posted on the discussion board by fellow group member Bruce Coltin as follows: “Hello. I just joined this group, and after looking at the membership list, I have to ask: Are UK companies more interested in business ethics than U.S. companies? And, if so, why do you think that is?”

 

This is a challenging question and can reveal our opinions and our bias, as well as our own observations. There are four comments so far in reply to Bruce’s question. Mine is comment number four and I’m aware that mine may be somewhat controversial to my American friends. I hope you will take a look at this discussion on LinkedIn and add your own viewpoints.

Thank you!

About Carole Brown, Learning Coach and Repatterning Practitioner

My early days as a biologist and my career as a leadership consultant and learning coach have largely influenced the work I do now. I am attracted to many different spheres of knowledge and wisdom, especially those that are on the cutting edge and relate to the processes underlying change. "Resonance Repatterning" is an energetic approach to transforming our patterns and moving beyond the blocks that keep us from reaching our highest self. It is a stunning process that gets right to the core and elegantly identifies what needs to be transformed. I first studied RR in 2000 before we had quantum physicists explaining the basis for energy work. Now we have the science, there's every reason to embrace this evolutionary approach to change and growth and use it to explore how to become your best self.
This entry was posted in Business ethics, Leadership and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ethics in business – a question on LinkedIn

  1. southwerk says:

    Yes, UK companies are more interested in ethics than their American counterparts. First let me say that I don’t think there is a lot of advantage, just a little. I base my response on how the two countries have handled the recent crisis over bonues payments to banks. In the United States, the cries of outrage than anyone would limit the “rightfully” earned profits were commonplace. I did not pick that up from Great Britain. I believe that the United States is more caught up in the Ayn Rand and free market absolutist than Great Britain. That will be a major factor for many years to come.
    http://southwerk.wordpress.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

