kd Lang – an inspiration

Ever since I read about K D Lang in ‘All you Get is Me’ I have been inspired by this woman whose integrity is of the highest calibre.
Last night as I sat with friends at their home east of San Francisco and watched the Opening Ceremony of the 21st Winter Olympic Games in Vancouver, I had no idea that I was to be yet again stunned by the incredible voice of this legendary artist. As she sang Hallelujah, a song written by fellow Canadian, Leonard Cohen, the huge crowd were stunned into silence.

On waking this morning, the memory of the night before beckoned me to search for a recording of her performance. On the web I found several interviews that I had never seen of KD on British TV and I added these as favourite’s on my youtube channel (you can find these by going to my sister blog ‘YesWeCan Journey’ and then selecting the Youtube link).
I also discovered that Google had received more searches for KD’s performance at the Olympics than anything else. Thousands of people were looking for her recording. After much perseverance, including finding it at some sites where it had been later removed due to copyright, I located the official NBC version (I’m writing this in the great United States of America).

You can view KD’s rendition of Hallelujah by going to http://bit.ly/cXDXN0

If you would like to be even more inspired by her philosophy on life, you can view some interviews with KD under my favourites on my youtube channel. There you’ll see a selection that I made from those available. Like the ‘No Impact Man’, whom you will also find there, KD Lang is a prime example of leadership in a world where many people have lost their connection to nature and their spirit.

PLEASE SEND US YOUR COMMENTS ….

[For my favourite’s on youtube: go to http://www.youtube.com/user/YesWeCanCamperVan?feature=mhum#g/f ]

P.S. The most amazing interview is on PBS (PBS = public broadcasting service in America, a bit like the BBC.  Ernie Manouse has a wonderfully intelligent interview style. Find his interview with kd Lang on his PBS show called “Inner Views with Ernie Manouse”.

About Carole Brown, Learning Coach and Repatterning Practitioner

My early days as a biologist and my career as a leadership consultant and learning coach have largely influenced the work I do now. I am attracted to many different spheres of knowledge and wisdom, especially those that are on the cutting edge and relate to the processes underlying change. "Resonance Repatterning" is an energetic approach to transforming our patterns and moving beyond the blocks that keep us from reaching our highest self. It is a stunning process that gets right to the core and elegantly identifies what needs to be transformed. I first studied RR in 2000 before we had quantum physicists explaining the basis for energy work. Now we have the science, there's every reason to embrace this evolutionary approach to change and growth and use it to explore how to become your best self.
This entry was posted in Empowering others, Leadership and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to kd Lang – an inspiration

  1. Carole Brown says:

    Wow, I can’t believe it’s one year since I wrote and posted this. It seems like yesterday!
    I wonder where I’ll be this time next year and how the world will be then?
    This was the Winter Olympics in 2010 and next year we’ll be getting ready for the 2012 summer Olympics in my home town of London, England.

    Like

Leave a Reply

