Who am I, really?

When I wrote this poem in the early hours of the morning on 1st February 2009, the day after my birthday, I might have been contemplative because on my birthday I always look at the year ahead as a new beginning, or I might have been in touch with my innermost being because it was a Sunday, i.e. a church day. Whatever the trigger point, that day  I was inspired to express my thoughts about how many of us lose our identity as we are pulled by forces outside ourselves. Whether it be corporate employers, our peers, parents, or children, or maybe friends and acquaintances, they can all make multiple claims on us.  As a result we can lose our centre, our balance and lose touch with who we are in our essence.

This poem is my way of trying to express my concern about the disconnection of humankind from our centre, from the world around us, and from our source.
If we become disconnected from our source, then who do we become?

I wanted to share my views, in the hope that you will respond and share your thoughts, too.

A poem by Carole Brown entitled “WHO AM I?”

 

Hi I am …..

I am an investment banker,
I deal … with numbers and data, trends and models,
I am dollars and yen, and pounds and euros,
I make money, that is my aim,
I am hungry to succeed,
I need to win.

Hi I am  ……

I am a corporate executive,
I lead ….. with corporate visions and missions, markets and shares,
I am success and growth, and position and power,
I make profit, that is my goal,
I protect my shareholders,
I must please them.

Hi I am ……

I am a therapist,
I listen ….. to beliefs and values, feelings and emotions,
I am histories and hurts, and pasts and pain,
I help mend, that is my role,
I am caring to others,
I help them live.

Hi I am …….

I am a parent,
I tend …… to babies and toddlers, teens and young adults,
I am teething and tantrums, and rebellion and independence,
I give love, that is my want,
I create the space,
For my children to grow.

Hi I am …….

I am an artist.
I create …… stories and songs, paintings and pictures,
I am words and music, and colors and shapes,
I give form, that is my gift,
I voice the invisible,
For others to absorb.

Hi I am …….

I am a scientist,
I observe …… evolution and adaptation, survival and decay,
I am cells and chemicals, and processes and systems,
I study life, that is my quest,
I show natural order,
For humans to be humane.

Hi ……. and you are?

I am invisible,
I make …… elements and molecules, life forms and the innate,
I am atoms and electrons, and neutrons and protons,
I am a building block, that is my honor,
I connect with others,
I exist in each and every.

I am in all the above,
I am.

[END]

About Carole Brown

I come to the arena of leadership and transformation from my early days a physiologist and from my second career as a change management consultant and learning coach. My enduring love of biology and my curiosity about energy and life, attract me to many different spheres of knowledge and wisdom. One is "Resonance Repatterning", an energetic approach to transforming our patterns and moving beyond the blocks that keep us from reaching our highest self. I first studied RR in 2000. I am hoping that we humans have now evolved to a place where we can embrace evolutionary approaches to change and growth, in order that we as people, organisations, and communities can live in harmony with ourselves and with our precious planet.
This entry was posted in Identity and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

